RJ Mitte

RJ Mitte, known for his work on the television series “Breaking Bad” and “Switched at Birth”, will be the keynote speaker at the Lamar State College Port Arthur Distinguished Lecture Series. The event is scheduled for March 22 at 7 p.m. in the Carl Parker Multipurpose Center, 1800 Lakeshore Drive, Port Arthur.

The event is free of charge but tickets are required for admittance. Tickets are available online by registering for the event (click the "Register Now" button to the left). Both printed and electronic versions of tickets will be accepted at the door the night of the event.

Mitte played Walt Jr., the son of the cancer-stricken science teacher-turned-drug manufacturer Walter White (played by Bryan Cranston) on the Emmy-winning AMC drama Breaking Bad. Like his character on the show, Mitte has cerebral palsy, although his is a milder form of the disability. In 2014, Mitte began a recurring role on the Peabody Award-winning ABC Family drama, Switched at Birth, as Campbell, a pre-med college student paralyzed by a snowboarding accident who works at the free clinic.

Mitte spent much of his childhood in both Austin, TX and Lafayette, LA where he learned to deal with and overcome many of the challenges presented by his cerebral palsy. In 2005, he arrived in Hollywood, where his acting career began with background roles on such TV series as Hannah Montana and Everybody Hates Chris. His big break came in 2008 with Breaking Bad, which he viewed as the "perfect role" to enlighten a broader audience about people with disabilities.

Beyond his acting, Mitte is involved with several organizations that raise awareness of equality and diversity. He is the Youth Spokesperson for the National Disability Institute's Real Economic Impact Tour, which works to improve the financial situation of low-income persons with disabilities. He is also a spokesperson for "I AM PWD," the tri-union campaign (SAG, AFTRA & Actors' Equity) that advocates for actors with disabilities. In 2011, Mitte became a Celebrity Youth Ambassador for United Cerebral Palsy.

Currently, he is working with PACER's National Center for Bullying Prevention on a nationwide campaign designed to educate those who see bullying, leveraging peer-to-peer support. An engaging, inspirational speaker at high schools, colleges, and universities around the country, Mitte openly talks about the ways he has overcome obstacles, including being bullied, and how he has achieved his high-set goals.

For more information contact the Office of Student Activities (409) 984-6191.

Previous Distinguished Lecturers Featured

Ron Suskind October 8, 2014
Peter Bergen March 25, 2014
Dan Rather December 3, 2013
"The Buried Life" April 15, 2013
Mark Kelly October 16, 2012
J.R. Martinez March 27, 2012
Alina Fernandez October 4, 2011
Jack Hanna March 22, 2011
Jeannette Walls October 21, 2010
Cal Ripken Jr. March 2, 2010
Frank Warren October 20, 2009
Bob Schieffer March 4, 2009
Cal Thomas and Bob Beckel September 30, 2008
Levar Burton February 28, 2008
Jeff Corwin October 24, 2007
Vincent Papale March 29, 2007
Arun Gandhi October 10, 2006
Christopher Gardner April 18, 2006
Garrison Keillor February 7, 2005
Mark Shields October 19, 2004
Soledad O'Brien April 6, 2004
Raymond Strother November 6, 2003
Frank Abagnale April 22, 2003
Senator George Mitchell October 22, 2002
John Walsh March 5, 2002
Cynthia Cooper October 4, 2001
David Baldacci March 6, 2001
Chris Wallace October 2, 2000
Cathy Rigby April 25, 2000
James Earl Jones October 14, 1999
Beck Weathers April 6, 1999
Lech Walesa October 8, 1998
Edward James Olmos April 23, 1998
Linda Finch October 27, 1997
Jean-Michel Cousteau Spring 1997
Captain James Lovell Fall 1996
Mark Russell Spring 1996
Dr. Red Duke Fall 1995
Former Vice President Dan Quayle Spring 1995
Joe Clark Fall 1994
Robert F. Kennedy, Jr. Spring 1994
David McCullough Fall 1993
Bill Demby Spring 1993
Molly Ivins Fall 1992
Joseph Judge Spring 1992
President Jimmy Carter Fall 1991
Dr. Joyce Brothers Spring 1991


Committee Members:

Dr. Charles Gongre Dean of Academic Programs (Committee Chairperson)
Claire Thomason Director of Student Activities
Dr. Ben Stafford Dean of Technical Programs
Sherry Steele Developmental Education Department Chair
Michelle Askew Faculty Senate President
Jimmet Lawrence Coord Reference/Access Service
Scott Street Athletics Director
Linda McGee Director of Human Resources
Donna Schion Executive Assistant to the President (ex officio)
  SGA President
  SGA Vice President