LAMAR STATE COLLEGE PORT ARTHUR Faculty Senate Minutes September 1, 2023 12:00 p.m.

I. Attendance.

- A. Present
 - Academic Faculty. Michelle Askew, Jim Cammack, Caitlin James,
 Dr. Michelle Judice, Dr. Percy Jordan, Zeb Lowe, Martin Manz
 Technical Faculty. Kim Arrington, Brandon Buckner, Brent Campbell, Albert
 Faggard, Toy Thornton-Wycoff

Absent: Maurice Abelman, Morgan Chaddick, Adriane Champagne, Tonya Harbert. Carl Richardson

- B. Staff Representative: Dayna Hyatt
- C. Adjunct Faculty Representative: Ken Ballou, absent.
- D. Guests: De. Steven Zani, Leah Alsibaa,

II. Call to Order.

- A. Meeting called to order at 12:00 PM by Brandon Buckner
- B. The meeting was held in-person and virtually in Student Center 422.

III. Approval of Minutes.

- A. Faculty Senate meeting minutes are available in Teams folder for review and in hard copy at the meeting.
- B. Motion to approve the May 2023 minutes. Seconded and approved.

IV. Correspondence.

A. No correspondence received.

V. Old Business

A. Campus Phone System: Faculty report still having problems with incoming and outgoing calls.

B. Synchronizing Calendar: It would be much easier for instructors to plan their coursework if our calendar and the ECHS calendars matched. As it is in come cases the ECHS students are missing as many as eight days that need to be accounted for prior to lesson planning. This is especially true for Juniors and Seniors taking tests.

C. Energy Conservation Day: Appears in only one calendar for Staff Holidays, not the Academic Calendar. Many did not realize it existed.

VI. New Business

A. Election of New Faculty Senate Officers. Due to the resignation of Zack Daily, Percy Jordan was elected Vice President. He was elected unanimously. Other changes in committees included the following: Zeb Lowe was appointed to chair the Academic Issues Committee and Caitlyn James was appointed to chair the Facilities Committee.

B. Items of discussion included a Campus-Wide Christmas Party, return of the Distinguished Lecture Series, the increased number of tasks employees are being asked to do outside regular work hours for no additional pay.

VII. Committee Reports

- A. Academic Issues: Chair, Zeb Lowe. No report.
- B. Facilities: Chair, Caitlin James: No report.
- C. Faculty Development/Welfare, Tonya Harbert: No report.
- D. Faculty and Campus Relations: Chair, Dr. Tina Capeles: No report
- E. Finance and Compensation: Chair, Carl Richardson: No report,
- F. LIT Faculty Senate: No report.
- G. LSC-O Faculty Senate: No report.
- H. Tribute Fund: Brandon Buckner, currently \$100. Senators' dues \$10 a semester.
- I. TSUS CFS report: No report.
- J. Staff Report: Dayna Hyatt. No report.

Faculty Senate Meeting Minutes (9-2023)

Meeting adjourned at 12:45 p.m.

Minutes submitted by:

Michelle Askew Jecretary

September 1, 2023 Date