ALERT: Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Latest News RSS FeedRSS Icon

    Student Government Association inducts officers, senators

    Student Government Officers, two seated in chairs and four standing in front of LSCPA logo on wall.
    The newest class of Student Government Association officers at Lamar State College Port Arthur include, from left, Senator Colby Glawson of Bridge City, Senator Denay Pena of Port Arthur, President Keilah Baaheth of Groves, Secretary Kayla Kay of Nederland, Raul Torres of Port Arthur, and Ethan White of San Antonio.

    The Student Government Association of Lamar State College Port Arthur named its newest class of officers and senators after recent elections on campus.


    Keilah Baaheth, a Business Administration major from Groves, has been elected president of the SGA, while Kayla Kay, an Audio Engineering major from Nederland, was chosen secretary. Because there were no candidates for the office of vice president, a special election will take place during the Fall 2017 semester to fill that office.


    The ceremony followed a week-long campaign and then a two-day voting period by students on the campus of Lamar State College Port Arthur. Students must be deemed academically and morally sound before being allowed to take office.


    Senators who joined the SGA during the annual ceremony were Raul Torres, an Commercial Music-Performance major from Port Arthur; Denay Pena, an Academic Studies major from Port Arthur; Ethan White, a Business Administration major from San Antonio; and Colby Glawson, a Commercial Music Performance major from Bridge City.


    The new student government leaders will serve a term spanning the Fall 2017 and Spring 2018 semesters.