ALERT: Information on Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Supporting the dreams of generations of students

The library building with three flags in front.
Gates Memorial Library

The Port Arthur Higher Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization formed in 1973. Its purpose is to promote the arts, sciences and programs of Port Arthur College, which later became Lamar State College-Port Arthur.

The foundation's early role included assisting the College in acquiring property surrounding the campus and in making special contributions, such as providing $125,000 to purchase books for the Gates Memorial Library after city voters donated the library to the College.

The foundation's current primary purpose is to administer more than $6 million in permanently endowed scholarships for Lamar State College-Port Arthur students. The awards bear the names of longtime community members, celebrities and local social and civic clubs, including Robert Rauschenberg, H.S. and Bernice B. Anderson, Lloyd and Joe Hayes, Sydalise Fredeman, G.W. Bailey and the Port Arthur Rotary Club.

A 15-member board of directors comprised of community and education leaders administers the foundation according to established by-laws. Lamar State College-Port Arthur receives applications for the foundation's scholarships, which may be awarded based on academic merit, financial need or both. Outstanding achievements of the college and similar activities in support of the Mission Statement of the institution.